

## Mark A. Warner, M.D. to Receive 2018 ASA Distinguished Service Award

Daniel J. Cole, M.D., FASA Chair, Committee on Distinguished Service Award (2018)

Mark A. Warner, M.D., will receive the ASA's 2018 Distinguished Service Award (DSA) at ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2019 in Orlando. The DSA is ASA's highest award, given for meritorious service and achievement within the society and the specialty. With this award, the society recognizes the remarkable contributions of extraordinary individuals who have advanced the specialty and who have helped transform how we practice, what we do and who we are. The DSA has been given annually nearly every year since 1945. A list of the specialty luminaries who are past recipients of this award may be found at www.asahq.org/about-asa/asa-awards-and-programs/distinguished-service-award.

Dr. Warner is unique as his contributions have encompassed all domains of our specialty (scientific research, leadership in academics, and a remarkable involvement at the forefront of specialty organizations, including ASA). He currently is the Annenberg Professor of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and President of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF).

Dr. Warner is a Past President of ASA, the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) and the Academy of Anesthesiology. Within ASA, Dr. Warner has served on 90 committees and workgroups and chaired all five of the sections within the Division of Scientific Affairs.



Daniel J. Cole, M.D.,FASA, is Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles.



During his 40 years of membership, he has made innumerable contributions to ASA. These include serving as an editor of Anesthesiology, leading multiple practice parameter work groups (e.g., fasting, vision loss and patient positioning guidelines), and developing with fellow members of his Executive Committee and ABA leaders the concept of the Perioperative Surgical Home (PSH). This latter effort was a decade-long initiative that resulted in increased training for residents in perioperative medicine, the development of the PSH Collaborative and, in many institutions, the expansion of clinical practices and evolution of anesthesiology into perioperative care. His leadership of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Review Committee for Anesthesiology provided him the opportunity to introduce the expanded training component of the PSH concept. In addition, Dr. Warner has served on the boards and executive committees of three ASA foundations: the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER), the APSF and the Anesthesia Quality Institute.

Dr. Warner is unique as his contributions have encompassed all domains of our specialty (scientific research, leadership in academics, and a remarkable involvement at the forefront of specialty organizations, including ASA).

Dr. Warner received his medical training at the Medical College of Ohio, followed by residency training at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. During his 40 years at Mayo Clinic, he has, not surprisingly, held many leadership roles. He chaired or otherwise led Mayo Clinic's pediatric practices, its large hospital system, its Center for Military Medicine, the Department of Anesthesiology and the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. In the latter role, he served as Executive Dean as well as Dean of the School of Graduate Medical Education. For Mayo Clinic leadership in general, Dr. Warner served on its Board of Governors and led its Administrative Committee.

Given his remarkable achievements and contributions, it is not surprising that Dr. Warner has received multiple honors and awards. These include the Distinguished Service Award from the Minnesota Society of Anesthesiologists, the

Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Medical College of Ohio, the Manalaysay Military Anesthesiology Leadership Award, and honorary fellowships from international anesthesia societies. He has given two dozen eponymous lectures during his distinguished career.

Dr. Warner is the author or co-author of more than 100 peer-reviewed articles as well as multiple books and book chapters. He has been a Visiting Professor at more than 80 academic medical centers that have anesthesiology residency training programs. Within education, Dr. Warner has been recognized with the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award, the ASA Resident Component Outstanding Career Award, and numerous Mayo Clinic teaching awards.

For his leadership and contributions to our specialty, and for his many decades as an esteemed colleague, clinician scientist, teacher and advocate for the specialty and patient safety, ASA is proud to name Dr. Warner as the recipient of the 2018 ASA Distinguished Service Award. He will receive the award at the time of the Rovenstine Memorial Lecture on October 21 in Orlando

