Department Awards Statistics

Many past and present staff of the Mayo Clinic Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine have been awarded for their skills, research, and specific work in their fields not only at the Mayo Clinic, but across the country and internationally.

Academy of Anesthesiology Citation of Merit Award

The Citation of Merit Award is presented in recognition of career success and notoriety, and for service to the Academy of Anesthesiology.


Alan D. Sessler, M.D.


Harold Michael Marsh, M.D.


Emerson A. Moffitt, M.D.


John W. Pender, M.D.


Charles F. McCuskey, M.D.


John S. Lundy, M.D.

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Distinguished Service Award

The ASA Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest tribute that can be paid to a member. The award is given for outstanding clinical, educational, or scientific achievement, contribution to the specialty and/or exemplary service to the ASA.

2020Daniel J. Cole, M.D., FASA
2018Mark A. Warner, M.D.
2001Alan D. Sessler, M.D.
1990John “Jack” D. Michenfelder, M.D.
1953Charles F. McCuskey, M.D.
1951Ralph M. Tovell, M.D.
1948John S. Lundy, M.D.

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Excellence in Education Award

The ASA Excellence in Education Award recognizes ASA members who have made outstanding contributions through demonstrated excellence in teaching, development of new teaching methods, and/or implementation of innovative educational programs in the field of anesthesiology.


Steven H. Rose, M.D.

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Excellence in Research Award

The ASA Award for Excellence in Research recognizes individuals for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.


David O. Warner, M.D.